ITIL® Training and Certification

ITIL® Training and Certification

IT Infrastructure Library®

ITIL® (IT Infrastructure Library®) is the most widely adopted approach for IT Service Management (ITSM). ITIL® is a public framework that describes good practices in IT Service Management.

ITIL® consists of five core books covering the Service Life-cycle, together with the Official Introduction. The five core books cover each stage of the service Life-cycle from the initial definition and analysis of business requirements in Service Strategy and Service Design, through migration into the live environment within Service Transition, to live operation and improvement in Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement.

There are five certification levels within the scheme:

  • Foundation Level
  • Practitioner Level
  • Intermediate Level
  • Expert Level
  • Master Level

ITIL® Foundation Level

ITIL® Foundation

The Foundation level focuses on knowledge and comprehension to provide a good grounding in the key concepts, terminology and processes of ITIL®. At this level, the qualification is achieved through a three-day course including a forty question, one-hour multiple choice examination. Foundation represents 2 credits towards the Diploma.

Intermediate Streams Level

To achieve a Diploma, candidates must achieve a total of 22 credits. In addition to the 2 credits from Foundation, candidates gain credits from taking units from either the Life-cycle (3 credits each) or Capabilities (4 credits each) intermediate streams. Both intermediate streams assess an individual's comprehension and application of the concepts of ITIL®. Candidates may take units from either of the streams. These units give them credits towards a Diploma.

The Managing across the Life-cycle course (five credits) is then required to bring together the full essence of a Life-cycle approach to service management.

Service LifeCycle Stream

The ITIL® Intermediate Life-cycle stream consists of five individual qualifications or modules, each based on one of the ITIL® Service Life-cycle phases, built around the guidance within each of the OGC core ITIL® titles:

Service Capability Stream

The ITIL® Capability stream consists of four individual qualifications, which focus on a series of clustered process activities, their execution and use throughout specific phases of the ITIL® Service Life-cycle as follows:

Pre-Requisite for Intermediate Modules

The following entry criteria must be met by candidates who intend to take any Intermediate qualifications:

  • Candidates must hold the ITIL® Foundation qualification or V2-V3 Bridge equivalent
  • Candidates must attend an Accredited Training Course or Accredited equivalent

Format of ITIL® Intermediate Exams

The ITIL® Intermediate examinations test candidates in their ability to understand, apply and analyze a series of components related to the relevant ITIL® practices covered within a specific module.

Each question is supported by a detailed scenario, which describes a specific Service Management or business related situation or problem. Based on the ITIL® core guidance covered by the module and the specific detail within the scenario, candidates should attempt to select the most accurate response from the four presented, that best solves the problem posed by the question.

Candidates who correctly identify the optimum response to the question will be awarded top marks (5); those who select either of the partially correct options will receive fewer marks (3 or 1) based on the degree of accuracy of the option, and those who select the incorrect or distracted option, which contains little or no accurate detail to solve the problem, will receive no marks (0).

The pass mark for this examination is 70% (28/40) and the exam duration is 90 minutes.

ITIL Expert Level

ITIL® Managing Across the Life-cycle Qualification

The ITIL® Managing Across the Life-cycle (MALC) qualification is a capstone qualification which is the final required module that a candidate must take prior to achieving ITIL® Expert Level.

Upon successful completion of the education and examination components related to this qualification, candidates can expect to gain competencies in the following:

  • Key concepts of the service Life-cycle
  • Communication and stakeholder management
  • Integrating service management processes across the service Life-cycle
  • Managing services across the service Life-cycle
  • Governance and organization
  • Measurement
  • Implementing and improving service management capability.

This module is aimed at individuals who are interested in achieving the ITIL® Expert Level, for which this module is a key requirement.

  • The Swirl logoTM is a trade mark of AXELOS Limited.
  • ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.
  • IT Infrastructure Library® is a Registered Trade Mark of AXELOS Limited.
  • PRINCE 2® is a Registered trademark of AXELOS Limited.
  • COBIT® is a trademark of ISACA registered in the United States and other countries.
  • Use of this site signifies your acceptance of Front Metrics Technologies Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. Product names, logos, brands, and other trademarks featured or referred to are the property of their respective trademark holders in the U.S. and/or certain other countries.

© Copyright 2012 Front Metrics Technologies Pvt. Ltd. All rights reserved | Design by Eviontech